The Millennium Development Goals(MDGs)

The Millennium Development Goals(MDGs)
Millennium Development Goals

In September 2000,at the United Nations Millennium Summit world leaders agreed to 8 specific and measurable development goals now called the Millennium Development goals to be achieved by 2015. 17 Sustainable development goals are being agreed upon as few of the Millennium development goals could not be achieved by all the global nations.

As 2015 comes to an end, 193 Heads of State and other top leaders have unanimously agreed upon an ambitious set of goals. The seventeen Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) have been agreed upon to embark on a 15 year journey to wipe out poverty,fight inequality and handle climate change effectively over the next 15 years.

The goals center on halving poverty and improving the welfare of the world’s poorest by 2015.

Goal 1:Eradicate extreme poverty  and hunger..
Goal 2:Achieve universal primary education.
Goal 3:Promote gender equality and empower women.
Goal 4:Reduce child mortality.
Goal 5:Improve maternal health.
Goal 6:Combat HIV/AIDS,malaria and other diseases.
Goal 7:Ensure environmental sustainability.
Goal 8:Develop a global partnership for development.

Sustainable Development Goals

Below are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals.
(1) No Poverty

(2) Zero Hunger

(3) Good Health and Well being

(4) Quality Education

(5) Gender Equality

(6) Clean water and sanitation

(7) Affordable and clean energy

(8) Decent work and economic growth

(9) Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

(10) Reduced Inequalities

(11) Sustainable cities and communities

(12) Responsible consumption and production

(13) Climate action

(14) Life below water

(15) Life on land

(16) Peace, justice and strong institutions

(17) Partnerships for the goals

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *